Our staff

The Bushfire and Natural Hazards CRC is managed through a small team based in East Melbourne.


An independent panel of experts helps to oversee the research program, providing strategic advice on the quality and overall development of the CRC’s research and education programs to ensure the research is of a high quality.

  • (Chair) Prof Carmen Lawrence, School of Psychology, University of Western Australia. Prof Lawrence has previously conducted research for a Bushfire CRC project examining community preparedness. 
  • Dr Gavin Smith, Director of the Department of Homeland Security’s Coastal Resilience Center of Excellence, and Research Professor in the Department of City and Regional Planning at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
  • Dr Mark Finney, Research Forester with the Fire, Fuel and Smoke Science Program, US Forest Service with 25 years’ experience in fire research.
  • Dr Anthony Bergin, Deputy Director of the Australian Strategic Policy Institute, whose role has included looking at national security from an all hazards perspective and disaster management planning.

Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee

A Board committee that oversees corporate governance, audit responsibilities, finance, compliance and risk management.

  • (Chair) Kathy Gramp, Deputy Chairman and Vice President at RAA Group
  • Lee Johnson, retired Commissioner of Queensland Fire and Emergency Services
  • Naomi Stephens, Program Director, Future NPWS at the National Parks and Wildlife Service, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage

Research and Utilisation Committee

A Board committee that ensures research conducted meets the strategic aims of the CRC and the needs of end-users, and is responsible for providing strategic advice on the overall development of the CRC’s postgraduate program and new educational initiatives. The committee also advises on the strategy for research adoption.

  • (Chair) Dr Greg Ayers, Principal at Ayers Advisory Pty Ltd
  • Greg Esnouf, Senior Bushfire Consultant at AFAC
  • Lee Johnson, retired Commissioner of Queensland Fire and Emergency Services
  • Heather Stuart, Manager Operational Improvement & Lessons at the NSW State Emergency Service
  • Georgie Cornish, Executive Director, Frontline Services Support at the South Australian Country Fire Service
  • Jeremy Fewtrell, Deputy Commissioner, Field Operations at Fire and Rescue NSW
  • Shoni Maguire, National Manager Disaster Mitigation Policy at the Bureau of Meteorology
  • Karl SullivanIndependent consultant
  • Hamish Webb, Director Knowledge and Planning at the Victorian Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning

Send us a message