About Australian Capital Territory Emergency Services Agency

The ACT Emergency Services Agency (ESA) is the ACT Government organisation charged with providing emergency management services to the Canberra community.

The ESA comprises the ACT Ambulance Service, ACT Fire & Rescue, the ACT Rural Fire Service, the ACT State Emergency Service and the ESA Support Services.

The ACT Rural Fire Service (ACTRFS) is responsible for protecting life, property and the environment from all bush and grass fires that occur within rural areas or non-suburban of the ACT. The ACTRFS has both volunteer brigades and a brigade of employees who work together responding to bush and grass fires, and conducting hazard reduction burning to mitigate against the fire threat to the ACT.